Nominations Report

The Nominations Committee Report was presented by Gordon Wegner (Chair - Lutheran).

Executive

04.07.36 It was resolved that

Revd Erica Mathieson Anglican
Bishop Jim Leftwich Anglican
Mrs Elizabeth Harrington Catholic
The Revd Denis Stanley Catholic
The Revd Tara Curlewis Uniting

Ms Heidi Stabb Uniting (Youth)

be elected members of the Executive until the next ordinary meeting of the National Forum.

Subsequent to the original vote an amendment was proposed to the Elected Members of the Executive. The Forum accepted the replacement of Denis Stanley (Catholic) with Joan Hendriks (Catholic).

Faith & Unity Commission

04.07.37 It was resolved that

Revd Dr Colleen O'Reilly Anglican
Revd Dr Richard Treloar Anglican
Revd Dr Cathy Thomson Anglican
Revd Genard Lazar Assyrian
Revd Dr Peter Cross Catholic
Revd Gerard Kelly Catholic
Sr Dr Frances Baker Catholic

Revd Meryl Blair Churches of Christ

Fr Makarious Ibrahim Coptic
Mr Sobhi Jim Attia Coptic
Bill Jaggs Friends

Fr Elias Kentrotis Greek Orthodox

Revd Peter Kriewaldt Lutheran
Mai Jim Weymouth Salvation

Maj Jim Weymouth Salvation Army Maj Graham Roberts Salvation Army

Mr George Gabriel Syrian
Revd Dr Chris Mostert Uniting
Revd Dr Dorothy Lee Uniting
Revd Graham Perry Uniting

be endorsed as members of the Faith & Unity Commission.

NATSIEC

04.07.38 It was resolved that

Fr Salatelu Joe Anglican
Ms Cassandra Ambrym Anglican
Mr Ernie Trevaskis Catholic
Ms Kara Williams Catholic

Revd Max Wright Churches of Christ Revd Len Wallam Churches of Christ

Mr Lloyd Bamble Lutheran Mr Greg Maclean Lutheran

Envoy Denise Webb Salvation Army Eastern Territory

Ms Lurleen Blackman Uniting Revd Sealin Garlett Uniting

be endorsed as members of the National Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Commission.

Youth Network

04.07.39 It was resolved that¹²

Michael Armstrong Anglican Ashur Isaac Assyrian Dr John Melki Antiochian

Sevan Aroyan Armenian Apostolic

Karen Lunney
Catholic
Hani Tadros
Coptic
Heidi Gabour
Jess Dundas
Natalie Lauer
Capt Brett Gallagher
Catholic
Coptic
Lutheran
Salvation Army

Paul Issa Syrian
John Zeitoun Syrian
Rob Hanks Uniting

be endorsed as members of the Youth Network.

Finance Committee

04.07.40 It was resolved that

Mr David Cohen Anglican
Mr Michael Elias Antiochian
Mr David Penny Catholic
Mr Ashraf Bishay Coptic

Mr Ian Minnett Salvation Army

Mr George Salman Syrian
Ms Wendie Wilkie Uniting
Mr Ron Brown Uniting
Lt Col Ray Wilson CWS
Revd Gregor Henderson
Vacant CWS

be endorsed as members of the Finance Committee.

Gender Commission

04.07.41 It was resolved that

Mrs Jenni Woodhouse Anglican
Ms Yvette Jamal Antiochian
Sr Bernice Moore Catholic
Sr Rosemary Breen Catholic
Ms Elsie Heiss Catholic

Ms Glynthia Finger Churches of Christ

Mrs Narmine Sidrak Coptic Jennifer Burrell Friends

Ms Theodora Margetis Greek Orthodox

Ms Alicia Simpfendorfer Lutheran

Lt Col Rhondda Durstan Salvation Army

Ms Shehara Viswanathan Uniting
Ms Lisa Wriley Uniting

be endorsed as members of the Gender Commission.

¹² It was noted that Churches of Christ in Australia will send a representative name for the Youth Network following their National Assembly in September.

Social Justice Network

04.07.42 It was resolved that

Mr Darren Mitchell Anglican
Ms Sue Leppert Anglican
Revd Richard Melki Antiochian
Jane Sloan Friends
Dr Michael Costigan Catholic
Mr John Ferguson Catholic
Mr Heshmat Grace Coptic

Maj Cecil Woodward Salvation Army

Mr Phillip Hanna Syrian
Revd Dr Ann Wansborough
Revd Elenie Poulos Uniting
Uniting

be endorsed as members of the Social Justice Network.

Commission on Mission

04.07.43 It was resolved that

Revd Jeff Smith Anglican
Revd John Thew Anglican
Revd Michael Elias Antiochian

Ms Sonia Berberian Armenian Apostolic

Mr Martin Teulan Catholic Revd Noel Connelly Catholic Revd Terry Bell Catholic Revd Youhanna Bastawarous Coptic

Revd Stavros Karvelas Greek Orthodox

Revd Mark Nitschke Lutheran
Maj Colin Daines Salvation Army

Revd Helen Richmond Uniting Revd Chris Walker Uniting

be endorsed as members of the Commission on Mission.

Directors of NCCA Ltd

04.07.44 It was resolved that

Revd Bruce McAteer Anglican
Mr Richard Melki Antiochian
Mr Danny Casey Catholic

Mr Richard Menteith Churches of Christ

Ms Wendie Wilkie Uniting Mr Ron Brown Uniting

be endorsed as Directors of NCCA Limited:

Recommendations to be passed on to the Executive

Australian Prayer Network

The question was asked: Is it possible/desirable to promote the "prayer" component of this objective (4.01 [a] i] by the NCCA linking with the Australian Prayer Network (via the internet and interpersonal dialogue)? The APN offers "authentic" spiritual communion" (Gerard Kelly) through prayer, national events (National Day of Thanksgiving, Night of Worship) and more. Web site http://www.ausprayernet.org.au.

Guidelines for Churches & Nominations Committee¹³

That the Executive be asked to provide guidelines for Churches and the Nominations Committee so as to ensure representation and balance of member Churches for commissions and networks as far as possible.

Observer Participation

The Northern Territory Council of Churches (NTCC) applauds the action of the Executive of the NCCA in broadening its Forum invitation observer list to include Youth with a Mission, the Australian Evangelical Alliance and the Australian Christian Churches.

The NTCC recommends that 14

The NCCA extend Observer status invitations to a wider list of Churches and active ecumenical para Church organisations in Australia.

Thanks

The work of Peter Sabatino, former Executive Secretary of NATSIEC, was acknowledged and a vote of thanks moved and carried.

In the light of his imminent departure, Malcolm Dodd, Financial Controller, was thanked for his many years of work and dedication to the NCCA. A vote of thanks was carried by applause.

Loretta Wholley (Chair - Steering Committee) and Gordon Wegener (Chair - Nominations Committee) were thanked for their important contribution to the Forum.

Vote of thanks given by Sonia Berberian: On behalf of the NCCA Sonia expressed thanks to: the staff and volunteers from the South Australian Council of Churches – specially thanking Vicki Waller, Julie Wright, and Daina Pocius; Lincoln College – staff and students; NCCA Forum coordinator – Debra Porter; NCCA staff members; members of all Commissions; the President and General Secretary; Steering Committee; Nominations Committee; invited guests and speakers especially Michael Putney; Stephen Ogden; and all delegates and attendees.

Conclusion

The Forum closed with worship followed by lunch.

¹³ (Moved by the Lutheran Church of Australia.)

¹⁴ (Moved by the Churches of Christ in Australia. Seconded by the Salvation Army.)